Technology for social justice

Winners announced for the 2021 Australian Not-For-Profit Technology Awards

Innovations in COVID-19 responses, domestic violence awareness campaigns and an online marketplace for donated goods are amongst the winners who were awarded for their contributions to making a positive impact through technology.

The annual Australian Not-for-Profit Technology Awards is a Connecting Up initiative (part of the Infoxchange Group) now in its sixth year. The awards recognise the very best in technology innovation and excellence by organisations and individuals across the Australian not-for-profit sector.

Infoxchange Group CEO David Spriggs commented on the exceptional quality of the 2021 nominations.

“It was inspiring to see nominations for so many incredible organisations and individuals, particularly during a year in which COVID-19 continued to pose immense challenges for the not-for-profit sector,” says David.

“Our winners this year have set a new standard for innovation in not-for-profit technology and shown outstanding commitment to using technology to strengthen the sector and support communities in need across Australia and beyond.”

This year’s Not-for-Profit Technology Innovator of the Year Award went to Good360 Australia, for creating the country’s largest online marketplace for businesses to donate spare and surplus goods. The platform delivered more than $49 million worth of donated goods in the last year to people living in poverty across Australia.

For the second year running, Australian-based This Life Cambodia won the award for Best Social Media Campaign, this time for the Not Her Fault” campaign, sharing the award with the Centre for Non-Violence’s “You Are Not Alone” campaign aimed at supporting victims of family violence through the COVID-19 pandemic.

The awards also focused on the contributions of individual volunteers and long-serving not-for-profit champions.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was shared by Jane Richardson of Generous & Grateful, who guided the small organisation through a revolutionising system change, and Karen Stuckey from Church Support Australia, who dedicated many hours of her time during COVID-19 to providing exceptional technology support and training to their members.

Not-for-Profit Lifetime Service Awards were presented to Pam Doughty from AUSOM News, Chris Deacon from ArtSound and Canberra Multicultural Service, and Andrew Mahar from the xpand Foundation.

The winners were judged by an expert panel from across the not-for-profit and technology sectors, including Hannah Frank from Google, David Crosbie from the Community Council for Australia, Megan Short from Women in Innovation and David Spriggs and Pankaj Chhalotre from the Infoxchange Group.


Complete list of winners and finalists

Best Social Media Campaign of the Year


  • This Life Cambodia’s “Not Her Fault” campaign
  • Centre for Non-Violence’s “You Are Not Alone” campaign


  • AusOcean, Underwater Live Stream

Best Technology Achievement by an Indigenous Australian (Individual)


  • Mikaela Jade, Indigital


  • Brett Leavy, Virtual Songlines
  • Janelle Turner, Murri’s on the Move

Not-For-Profit Technology Innovator of the Year


  • Good360


  • Safe Steps
  • Mercy Connect
  • Citizens of the Great Barrier Reef
  • Oxen Privacy Foundation

Not-For-Profit Technology Lifetime Service Award (Individual)


  • Pam Doughty, AUSOM News
  • Chris Deacon, ArtSound and Canberra Multicultural Service
  • Andrew Mahar AM, The xpand Foundation

Technology for Community Impact Award – Best Government Agency


  • CivVic Labs, Victorian Government

Technology Volunteer of the Year (Individual)


  • Jane Richardson, Generous & Grateful
  • Karen Stuckey, Church Support Australia


  • David Greer, Arcadians Theatre Group

Best Accidental IT Person (Individual)


  • Lauren Tuck, The Funding Network
  • Matthew Sandstrom, Craniofacial Australia


  • Jason Kimberley, Cool Australia

Technology for Community Impact Award – Best Private Sector Organisation


  • Communiteer


  • Seer Data & Analytics
  • Resilient Youth Australia
  • Digital Services Lab
  • Goanna Education


UTS Rapido Social


For all media enquiries, please contact:

Grant Smyth

E: [email protected]

M: +61 411 494 850


Keep up to date with the latest Infoxchange news